From NKAA, Notable Kentucky African Americans Database (main entry)

Powell County (KY) Enslaved, Free Blacks, and Free Mulattoes, 1860-1880

Powell County, named for Kentucky Governor Lazarus W. Powell, is located slightly east of central Kentucky. It was formed in 1852 from portions of Clark, Estill, and Montgomery Counties and is surrounded by three counties. It is home to one of the last Native American villages in the state. The county seat is Stanton, named for U.S. House Member Richard M. Stanton in 1852. The 1860 county population was 2,132, according to the U.S. Federal Census; the population increased to 3,647 by 1860, excluding the enslaved. Below are the number of slave owners, enslaved, free Blacks, and free Mulattoes for 1860-1880.

1860 Slave Schedule
  • 32 slave owners
  • 101 Black slaves
  • 24 Mulatto slaves
  • 20 free Blacks [last names Holley, Johnson, Anderson, 2 Abbott, 1 Brandenburg]
  • 4 free Mulattoes [2 Johnson, 1 Clarke, 1 Miltson]
1870 U.S. Federal Census
  • 191 Blacks
  • 45 Mulattoes
  • At least 10 U.S. Colored Troops listed Powell County, KY as their birth location.
1880 U.S. Federal Census
  • 269 Blacks
  • 10 Mulattoes [last name Kelly, 1 Harris]
For more see the Powell County entry in The Kentucky Encyclopedia, edited by J. E. Kleber; and Powell County, Kentucky: a pictorial history, by the Powell County Pictorial History Book Committee. See the "U.S., Colored Troops Military Service Records, 1863-1865" and other military service records in Ancestry for names and additonal information.

Item Relations

Cited in this Entry

NKAA Source: The Kentucky encyclopedia
NKAA Source: Powell County, Kentucky: a pictorial history
NKAA Source: Ancestry (online)

Related Entries Citing this Entry


Cite This NKAA Entry:

“Powell County (KY) Enslaved, Free Blacks, and Free Mulattoes, 1860-1880,” Notable Kentucky African Americans Database, accessed June 23, 2024,

Last modified: 2024-06-20 18:21:26