From NKAA, Notable Kentucky African Americans Database (main entry)

Wayman Institute

Founded in Harrodsburg, KY, by the Kentucky Conference of the A. M. E. Church, Wayman Institute was named after Bishop A. W. Wayman. It was an elementary school with three buildings located on 20 acres of land (some sources say there were four buildings on 18 1/2 acres of land). The principals were Rev. I. H. Welch, August Reid, W. H. Lacey, George W. Saffell, W. E. Newsome, C. H. Brown, and in 1915, C. H. Boone. The school had three teachers and 53 students during the 1915-16 school term. Twenty-nine students had graduated by 1916; the school closed in 1919. The property was sold and the Kentucky interest of $2,000 was merged into Turner College in Tennessee. For more see Centennial Encyclopaedia of the African Methodist Episcopal Church, p. 370 [full-text at the UNC Documenting the American South website]; "Wayman Institute," pp. 278-279 in vol. 2 of Negro Education: a study of the private and higher schools for Colored people in the United States, Department of the Interior, Bureau of Education, Bulletin 1916, No. 39 [available full-text at Google Book Search]; Wayman Institute on p. 525 of The Encyclopaedia of the African Methodist Episcopal Church, compiled by Bishop R. R. Wright; and a detailed history of Wayman Institute on pp. 196-201 in The History of Education of Mercer County, Kentucky, by W. M. Wesley.

Item Relations

Cite This NKAA Entry:

“Wayman Institute,” Notable Kentucky African Americans Database, accessed April 20, 2024,

Last modified: 2023-06-15 19:34:23