About Us

Send Your Suggestions

Black Caucus Of The American Library Association


staff only

University of Kentucky Libraries

African American Library Directors in the USA

< Entries Beginning With S >

View Entries That Start With
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | View All

[-- Return to full listing --]

Samuel, Monecia

Title: Director of College Library Services
Library:
The College of Westchester Library
Address:
325 Central Avenue
White Plains, New York 10606
Phone: 914-948-4442 ex. 281
Email: MSamuel@cw.edu

Scott, Connie

Title: Library Director
Library:
Indiana Tech, McMillen Library
Address:
1600 E. Washington Boulevard
Fort Wayne, Indiana 46803
Phone: (260) 422-5561 x2224
Fax: (260) 422-3189
Email: cescott@indianatech.edu

Scott, Joyce F.

Title: Director
Library:
Roosevelt Public Library
Address:
27 West Fulton Avenue
Roosevelt, New York 11575
Phone: (516) 378-0222
Email: jscott@rooseveltlibrary.org

Shanks, Sharon

Title: Executive Director
Library:
Nelson County Public Library
Address:
201 Cathedral Manor
Bardstown, Kentucky 40004
Phone: (502) 348-3714
Fax: (502) 348-5578
Email: nelsoncopublib@hotmail.com
Notes:
1st African American public library director in Kentucky

See entry in the NKAA Database
http://www.uky.edu/Libraries/NKAA/record.php?note_id=776

Shelton-Council, Tanya

Title: Library Director
Library:
Selbyville Public Library
Address:
11 Main and McCabe
Selbyville, Delaware 19975
Phone: (302) 436-8195
Email: tshelton@lib.de.us

Shields, Theodosia T., Ph. D.

Title: Director of Library Services / Assistant Professor
Library:
North Carolina Central University Libraries
Address:
1801 Fayetteville Street
Durham, North Carolina 27707
Phone: (919) 530-5233
Fax: (919) 530-7612
Email: tshields@nccu.edu

Simmons-Welburn, Janice

Title: Dean of Library
Library:
Marquette University, Raynor Memorial Libraries
Address:
1355 West Wisconsin Avenue
P.O. Box 3141
Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53201-3141
Phone: (414) 288-7214
Fax: (414) 288-7813
Email: Janice.Simmons-Welburn@marquette.edu

Sirmans, Barbara C.

Title: Director
Library:
Birmingham Public Library
Address:
2100 Park Place
Birmingham, Alabama 35203
Phone: (205) 226-3614
Email: barbara@bham.lib.al.us

Smith, Jessie Carney

Title: University Librarian
Library:
Fisk University Library
Address:
1000 17th Avenue North
Nashville, Tennessee 37208-3051
Phone: (615) 329-8500
Email: jcsmith@fisk.edu
Notes:
1st African American to earn a Ph.D. in library science at the University of Illinois.

Sprinkle-Hamlin, Sylvia

Title: Library Director
Library:
Forsyth County Public Library
Address:
660 West Fifth Street
Winston-Salem, North Carolina 27101
Phone: (336) 703-3016
Fax: (336) 727-2549
Email: hamlinss@forsythlibrary.org

Stephens, Brenda

Title: Regional Director
Library:
Hyconeechee Regional Library
Address:
300 West Tryon Street
Hillsborough, North Carolina 27278-8181
Phone: (919) 245-2525
Email: bstephens@co.orange.nc.us

Stinson, Dr. Willette F.

Title: Director
Library:
Wilberforce University, Rembert E. Stokes Library
Address:
Rembert E. Stokes Library, Room 210
1055 N. Bickett Road
Wilberforce, Ohio 45384

Phone: (937) 708-5629
Email: WStinson@wilberforce.edu

Stuckey, Sheila A.

Title: Director of Libraries
Library:
Kentucky State University, Paul G. Blazer Library
Address:
400 East Main Street
Frankfort, Kentucky 40601
Phone: (502) 597-6852
Email: sheila.stuckey@kysu.edu
Notes:
Former library directors: Karen McDaniel, Donald Lyons, James O'Rourke, Ann Rucker Anderson, Emma B. Lewis, Ollie Atkins Carpenter, Birdie Russell Rose, Lydia E. Russell

Swader, Lorelle

Title: Director
Library:
American Library Association - Office for Human Resource Development and Recruitment
Address:
50 E. Huron
Chicago, Illinois 60611
Phone: 1-800-545-2433 x4278
Fax: (312) 280-3256
Email: lswader@ala.org

 

[-- Return to full listing --]